Be Kind

Image0336

Looking back today, I was thinking about what has kept me on my path to better health and running. I was surprised that thoughts of vegetables, protein and exercise didn’t come flooding to mind. In fact, I thought of this “Be Kind” message.

I was out enjoying one of my new favorite trails. I wasn’t running at the time, it wasn’t even on my radar. In that moment, I was concentrating on losing weight, it never even occurred to me that I could be a runner. I may have wanted to be one, but surely, I was not one. Walking had become my savior. It gave me a little bit of solitude and a place to dust off some of my thoughts.

For as long as I can remember, I have always felt that kindness was the way to navigate this world. That doesn’t mean I have always been kind, believe me, I’ve had my moments.

As I was walking along, I noticed a rock tucked away near a fencepost on the side of the trail. I squinted my eyes trying to read what it said, I even looked around to see if it was a prank, it seemed so out of place, odd. Then I realized it said “Be Kind“, I broke into a big smile. It brought me instant joy, though I was a little skeptical.  I quickly scanned the area for the grad students that would be filming my reaction to be used for their human behavior project. I was sure they were hiding behind the trees, sure of it.

A rock. Two words. That is all it took to shift my thoughts and mood that day. I think about that rock and it’s message, a lot, confirming that kindness isn’t fleeting, it’s continual.

It has been a long week, for many, if not all of us. For me, the way I see it, it is more important now, more than ever…to Be Kind.

“You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.”   

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

