Feb. 9th- Remembering Sherry Arnold

image[8]

This Saturday, February 9th, gather your friends, your family or just you and

your thoughts and remember Sherry Arnold.

I first found “Shut Up and Run” last year when I was looking at the running world from the safety of my laptop, wondering if I could get out there and do it, really do it. I enjoyed Beth’s take on running and life, I think I even noticed the word ‘donut’ somewhere in her blog, which kind of sealed the deal for me at the time. Remember, I lived in Wisconsin prior to moving to Colorado and was in shock to find out that Boulder didn’t even have a donut shop, really, they didn’t. But now they do.

SUAR  felt like a good place to start. So I followed.  Shortly after that we would all be connected by the tragic death of Sherry Arnold. As women, runners and the world around us mourned the loss of Sherry, Beth, her cousin, stepped into action and put together a virtual run in honor of her and to remind us to be safe,  run on and never forget.

I was able to make it out to the Boulder Reservoir to walk in her honor, printed out my bib and placed each foot carefully on the ground in memory of Sherry, a woman that we all know in our own lives. It made me realize that the running community was not immune to such tragedy, and I was startled to think that it would even happen. I questioned my own safety and I hadn’t even officially hit the trails yet. I guess you could say that day was my first ‘event’.

Now when I lace up and consider a trail, whether I’m alone or with friends, I think of  our safety and I think of Sherry. I now know what running brings to my life, how I love to get on the trail, to put one foot in front of the other, to enjoy the solitude, to shake off life’s worries and I think of Sherry. I imagine that she had run that route so many times before, in victory, contemplation and sometimes to just run without restrictions. I think of all the women out there that lace up and look forward to the freedom and safety of their own runs.

May we never forget Sherry and the message and community that she has inspired. May we always celebrate her life, her family and the legacy that she left behind. May we always be safe and honor her with every step we take.

Please follow the link below to “Shut Up and Run” for more details. Please share with your friends, post on your blog, tweet, share, share, share as we keep each other safe out there doing what we all want to do. Run.

Will you join us?

http://www.shutupandrun.net/2013/01/2nd-annual-virtual-run-for-sherry.html

Leave a Reply

