Ellen DeGeneres- Epic

Ellen_Degeneres_ShowSo…call me naive but I am on a mission. On  a mission to dream BIGGER.  I have to admit, I doubt that I will make contact with Ellen, but there is something inside of me that says, ‘Why not?, Why not try?” I have nothing to lose, well…except my hair. What are the odds that Ellen will shave my head? I really don’t know.

Bite your tongue, “slim to none…“, I heard that. You have to believe.

Maybe it does seem far-fetched, but so did running 13.1 miles.

I don’t blame you for hesitating, I mean, think about it. Me, an average, stay-at-home mom, sitting at my desk in the basement, drinking too much coffee, still dressed in my running gear, but hasn’t gone running yet, needs a shower, trying to do good,  trying to find my way, help others….really? I think Ellen will shave my head?

BUT those are the exact reasons why I should believe it’s possible, and you should too.

This is about showing how a middle-of-the-road, stay-at-home-mom, who is struggling with 20 more pounds to go, can make a change on Epic proportions.

It’s about believing that the risk is always worth it, whether Ellen does the honors or not, I’m still shaving my head. It’s about the stretching, the believing, the putting myself out there that counts. This is about advocating for childhood cancer, Type 1 Diabetes, Epilepsy, Rubinstein-Taybi Syndrome, Neuroblastoma, Organ Donation, Cardiomyopathy, Autism, Down Syndrome, Asperger’s, oh, the list is endless. It’s about advocating for a life for everyone that is filled with fun,  surprises, risk, magic and connections.

I have to believe that someday I will be sitting across from Ellen and she’ll say, ellen_degeneres_300x400“Nicely done, bravo! Congrats for putting yourself out there…”.

I believe in the power of people, now more than ever. So, go ahead,  share this post,  send Ellen an e-mail, bombard her FB page, ask her nicely to shave my head for childhood cancer– she can come to Boulder, or I can go there…what have we got to lose. Nothing. It’s all about winning, advocating for others and putting ourselves out there. Believing.

So what, maybe I get knocked down, maybe she doesn’t shave my head, but I tried.

Maybe you’ll be sitting there on March 17th, green beer in hand, thinking “I knew it wouldn’t happen”, BUT you could be sitting there on March 17th, green beer in hand, thinking “Holy Crap, she did it!!”. Which scenario makes you smile bigger? I thought so.

This might be that moment where your gut tells you to do it, to help make it happen and your head tries to talk you out of it, ”pffffft, that will never happen”. Well it’s not going to happen if you listen to your head.

Yesterday over 1,000 people saw my random post on FB about being epic, going out there and being your awesome self. That is brilliant and inspiring. It shows how much we all want to believe, how we want to be a part of something greater than ourselves and something powerful that leads to great changes. We are kind, we are strong and we are in this together.

I’m no Kellie Pickler, but I think our hearts are in the same place. kellie-bald-ellen

So, are you in? Are you going to help me out? Are you going to be a force in my advocacy adventures?  What have you got to lose? Nothing.

I want Ellen to say, “Who the hell is Denise Dollar and why does she want me to shave her head?

http://www.ellentv.com/be-on-the-show/10/

https://www.facebook.com/ellentv?ref=ts&fref=ts

Leave a Reply

