Hey Girl. Don’t quit.

ryan gosling hat

10 days until I brave the shave. Today I had numbers on my mind. I have been posting, tweeting, and e-mailing for the last three days in efforts to get Ellen’s attention, which led to my humble attempts at my own “Hey Girl” campaign.

I’m sitting here wondering, wondering how people do it. How does it happen. How do you get someone’s attention? What motivates people? How can a cat have 72,000 “likes”? How can Honey Boo-Boo have over 350,000 followers on Twitter?

Ryan shocked!Maybe it’s all too serious, cancer that is. Maybe it’s too real, too painful. Maybe clicking ‘like’ on someone’s borderline begging campaign to get Ellen to shave her head brings them just a little too close to cancer. Maybe they are already there.  Fighting.

I was really struggling with this today, wondering how far do you go? When do you stop trying? My first thought, was never, not until there is a cure. It’s so much like running to me, I wouldn’t dream of stopping at mile 12 and turning around before getting to the finish line. All of that hard work, commitment…to just turn around when I’m so close? That doesn’t make sense to me. photo (42)

Maybe I’ll never figure out why Honey Boo-Boo has so many followers, and honestly, I don’t think I want to know why. But the beauty in it is that we live in a country where anything is possible, and it’s possible for her,  so, ironically that gives me hope.

So today when I think of numbers, I think of the number of followers that Ellen has, the number of times I have to give Logan a shot, the number of Mom’s that I know that grieve for their children that fought childhood cancer and that number is too high.

In the 15 minutes that it will take them to shave my head on March 16th, 3 children will be diagnosed with cancer.

There is still time to donate, to share, to ask Ellen to shave my head, help us raise awareness and to prove that a middle of the road, SAHM, can be heard.

So go to Ellen’s FB page, her website, her twitter account, what have you, and I know, who the heck has time to do all of this? But if you do, I’m ready to pay it forward.

You might be thinking, why? Why should you do any of those things? You might think that it’s not important, that you can’t relate to it, but does it really matter? It’s about supporting parents, families and children when there are gaps in their hearts, when they need someone to lift this weight off of their shoulders and help them in the fight.

At first I thought, what have you got to lose, nothing. But that’s not true. What have we got to lose? Our future. The children we love, the children we care about, that’s what we have to lose.

March 16th, 9 more days. There’s still work to be done and I won’t stop until the bald lady sings. The more I write, the more I advocate, the more I realize that life is so much like running. It’s about motivating yourself when no one is around, running your own race, your own pace, supporting others to the finish line, community and endurance. Show up and do your best.Zoe supergirl (1)

“Go for it now. The future is promised to no one.” ~ Wayne W Dyer

When making a donation please put my name “Denise Dollar” in the honoree slot and it will go to my fundraising efforts, thank you!

http://bit.ly/WZC8KQ

Leave a Reply

