Should be sleeping…but

Just got back from another great event hosted by Dimity McDowell Davis and Sarah Bowen Shea from Another Mother Runner. I love their events, their books, their podcasts. They have created a wonderful community of Mother runners and continue to inspire many of us to raise the bar, support each other and personally, they help me keep running real. By that I mean that I am getting better at not comparing my times or abilities with other runners, and I am getting better at just enjoying it all, it’s my pace, my race. (I think I might have to put that on a t-shirt- my pace, my race what do you think?).

I had a wonderful evening with some great women – strong, funny, compassionate, supportive, brave, inspiring…well, you get the picture. These days when I’m at an event like this all I can think about is “What’s their story?”, I want to sit down with each and every person and honor their story. How did they get there? and where are they going?.

Ever since I started advocating more publicly through my blog I’ve had a shift in perspective. Running two 1/2’s and training for my century has shifted my perspective too. On top of that, cheering friends and strangers across the finish line….well that is always life changing for me. Not only has my perspective shifted, my heart has expanded, I have met some pretty incredible people out there doing some pretty amazing things.

I have experienced first hand what it takes to train, to cross that finish line and I know what it took to get me there, it’s not always easy, or pretty, but it’s always worth it.

I’m pretty sure that we all have different experiences but in the end we all cross the same finish line. And you know, it doesn’t have to be the finish line of a race, it’s that finish line in your life. Whatever goal you have set for yourself and how it feels when you achieve it, what it took to get you there. Just like they say, it’s never about the destination, always about the journey.

Maybe that’s why I get teary eyed at events, I’m just so happy for that person to cross the finish line, first or last, it doesn’t matter. It could also be because of the stories I hear, the stories I witness. Like the brother and sister that cross the finish line and then come back to run in with their mom, cheering her on “You can do it Mom, you’re strong, you’ve got this.” Or when the dad is ahead of the daughter and he keeps looking back for her and she says “Dad, don’t wait for me please, just go ahead…please“, and he turns around and runs back to her and says “No way, I’m not leaving your side and we’re crossing that line together“. Or it could be my raging hormones, but regardless I now know to bring kleenex with me to every event.

So why am I still up? I’m not sure why and I’m not sure that I even have a point here. My mom arrives tomorrow, I haven’t done half of the things I wanted to do, I’m tired, my butt is a little sore from back-to-back training days for my century, and it’s past my bedtime. I should be fast asleep. But I’m up mostly because during the evening I had some great conversations, and I’m still feeling a little buzzed by it all.

I tend to get a little nervous at big events, I love them, but I get a little nervous, it doesn’t last long but it’s there. When we arrived I was feeling a bit excited to finally meet Sarah, but at the same time I had to pee like you wouldn’t believe so when she saw me I didn’t want to run right past her, how rude,  so I gave her a quick hug and said “I love you but I really have to pee…” and I raced for the bathrooms.

It was actually perfect timing, when I was in the bathroom I caught my breath and gave myself a little pep talk. “Be kind, be a good listener, be helpful, make new friends, enjoy them and check your ego at the door…there is nothing but good stuff  out in that room, don’t be nervous“. And it was all brilliant. I had a great time with my friends, I was able to meet up with a new friend who is just delightful and made me feel like ‘home’ as we share Wisconsin as an old stomping ground.

nuttzo dark chocolateSo here I sit. I have a list a mile long of posts that I have been putting off, trying to find time to write but here I am, jazzed up about the evening and wanting to post about Nuttzo, yep, you read it right. We all received a jar of Nuttzo in our swag bags tonight and I was so excited because Dimity has been talking about how great it is. Score! (and look who else likes NuttZo, Dr. Oz and that was in 2011, I am so out of the loop, you probably already have NuttZo in your pantry).

When I got home I literally came in the door, keys still in hand and opened the jar looking for something to put it on, I opted for a graham cracker because it was the closest vehicle to get it in my belly, although right out of the jar would have been fabulous too.

Dimity is right, its great…and you know what? The story and mission behind NuttZo is even better. You know how I love a good story and how I love to share, so I guess that’s why I’m still up, just wanted to share about this great product and the family behind it. Well, I also wanted to share about the great time in Denver, but mostly I wanted to share the link to NuttZo because I think you will love it too.

So that’s it for now…more to come soon, really, because I have some things to share with you and I’m so grateful that you stop by and give me the opportunity to do that with you. I’m counting down the days to my century, and between you and me, I still love running but I have to admit I’ve become quite smitten with my bicycle, which I have lovingly named  “Rock-it”, with the help of my children of course, they first called it “Red Rocket” so I just tweaked it  a bit.

Don’t forget to check out Nuttzo’s website and find them on FB.

Be good to yourself, be kind to others…it’s all good.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

