Staying hydrated…keeping it simple.

Bottle_PolarInsulated_1024x1024As a rookie I’m still learning what works for me and what doesn’t. I still struggle with fueling as I tend to get nauseated pretty easily in the morning.

I haven’t quite figured it all out yet, but after running the Colfax 1/2 in Denver with my friend Heather, she shared a great tip about a product that she had tried recenlty and through trial and error, I feel like I’m starting to find my groove.

As I mentioned in my earlier post about our race, I was sick for most of it, just wanting to hurl, stopping at E-V-E-R-Y port-a-potty en route (and tip for the organizers, there needs to be more than one at the first stop, really. I’m sure the other runners yelling “pee faster” while I was in that hot mess would agree).

I tried to figure out what it was that was causing my stomach to rebel that morning. Hmmmm,  maybe it was nerves? a virus? Surely it had nothing to do with the creme brulee I had the night before. Pshaw.

Like I said, I usually don’t eat before I run in the morning because I get so nauseated, but that morning I thought I had it covered. I ate early and nothing too crazy, some oatmeal with a dollop of peanut butter (thanks to Heather for that great tip too, my favorite standby lately) and a banana. I drank a lot of water the day before, I didn’t feel dehydrated, but when we hit the first aid station the sports drink they offered was screaming my name and I chugged it down. Later I would find that it was the culprit, too hard on my sensitive stomach.  (Ironically, the same thing,  same product that I had at my other 1/2 and my stomach was not happy then either).

Soon after, Heather mentioned Skratch Labs, that she liked their product and  it was gentle on her stomach.  Sold.  So I tried it and I have used it ever since, and I agree with Heather, it is much easier on my stomach.

Then it’s no surprise that as I’m getting ready for my 100 Mile JDRF Ride  I wanted to keep some handy. I just ordered my thermal bottle today to take with me so I can keep my hydration mix chilled. Something needs to be chillin’ on that day because I’m sure that I will be a ball of anxiety, excitement and adrenaline. Can you say hot mess? I knew you could.

When you get a minute, well 1:48 to be exact, check them out, another great product coming out of Boulder, CO.  And love their sense of humor….I mean really, no fire retardant? How scandalous –  making a product that’s good for us, what a concept…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=BPBggWHaEK4

Leave a Reply

