A Mom. A pair of shoes. The possibilities are endless.

IMG_4485

 

When we give, we give freely, no expectations. The Moms that receive shoes from Heart Strides are beyond busy so we never expect to hear from them, though we are always grateful when we do.

I received this message yesterday morning and as a Mom with child with T1D it went straight to my heart. With the Mom’s permission I am sharing her message with you, it is such a moving reminder of how important the Heart Strides mission is and how powerful a pair of shoes can be.  It is also a wonderful reminder in the power of giving. 

Thank you to everyone that has visited and shared our FB page, as you all know, sharing is a tremendous help and in return it naturally leads us to those that will support us and connects us with those that we can support. To support Heart Strides through donations please visit us at https://fundly.com/running-shoes-for-moms, thank you!

 

“I cannot thank you enough for the new running shoes and the other goodies I received last week.  What an amazing, thoughtful mission you have.  

My (then) 16 month old son, Tate,  was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes on May 27.  Jenni said your child is also T1D, so I know you understand how much your entire world changes.  My family’s world has forever been changed.  
I’m sitting here not ever sure what I want to say.  There is part of me that could word vomit this email and detail our entire summer.  The struggles to adjust to our new reality.  The sleepless nights.  The feeling of failing your child and being extremely inadequate when it comes to his care.  The guilt of time missed with our other child, Tate’s twin Blake.  The thought of him never being able to fully enjoy a birthday party or always having to have mom or dad around.   
Its been such a rollercoaster.  One day you feel like you’ve got this, the next day you feel like you never will.  The underlying thought that all you are doing is guessing and hoping your guesses are pretty good.  
Your gift and your mission are so humbling.  A pair of shoes.  Something so needed.  I am an avid runner.  My 20th marathon is in 2 weeks.  The shoes came at the perfect time.  I have been in need of new shoes, but at over $100 a pair, its a hard expense to justify.  Especially now.  Our budget is so tight right now.  The cost of diabetes is astounding.  Test strips alone!  Plus the hospital stay.  The follow up visits.  Supplies and more supplies.  And we have decent insurance!  I didn’t know when I could afford new running shoes and now, thanks to you, I have new ones.  
I am so very touched and so very honored.  I cried opening that box and I am crying now.  I needed those shoes so very much.  Because, on the days I feel so inadequate, I can do the one thing I know I can do – run.  Running has sustained me – it is my normal.  My one hour a day that I can shut out the world and feel strong and capable.  Thank you, for giving me that hour and that feeling. ”   – K.L., MN
Leave a Reply

