Meet our Ambassadors: Kathy Sebright

Over the next few weeks I’ll be sharing about the amazing, beautiful, inspiring women that have volunteered their time to share about Heart Strides, enabling us to support more Moms as they take stronger steps to better health.

Kathy Sebright leads the way-

 

Kathy Sebright Ambassador profile

My name is Kathy and I have been an avid distance runner for 9 years. I have been married to my high school sweetheart Tony for over 10 years and we have two boys: 3 year old Emmett and 6 year old Travis. For me, running has always been an outlet and a passion that ran deep.
It wasn’t until my son Emmett was diagnosed, or really,  began having medical problems just after his first birthday that running had become something even more to me. I could channel all of the fear, uncertainty, rage, anguish, and pure misery while I ran and leave some of it behind me. It was a long process, to attempt to outrun the pain I was in but running is what helped me make the transition from the old me to the new me. It was powerful and hopeful and made me feel brave when I needed it the most. I began running ultra distances in my son’s honor. It was during those extreme hours of exhaustion and fatigue that I felt most alive and that I found the will to go on not just for, but also because of, Emmett.
When I’m not running for hours and hours in the early morning before everyone else is awake, I am writing as often as possible. Within me lives a world of words just waiting to get out. I also work part time in between our everyday chaos.
I got involved with Heart Strides to make a difference. I have fallen apart and lost myself many times watching my own son suffer through seizures, surgeries, scans, tests, hospitalizations, medications, and therapies. And while I am still relatively new to this journey, as it’s only been 2-1/2 years since diagnosis, I feel like I have lived a lifetime in those years. I believe in the healing power of running. I believe in supporting and encouraging those that have been in my shoes and need someone to throw them a lifeline. I believe in this mission, to give women the gift of running.  I believe that we can change lives by empowering these women both physically and mentally. And that’s exactly what I want to help do, in whatever way I can.
Thank you Kathy, your spirit shines through!
Leave a Reply

