Ambassador Profile: Heidi Anne Bray

Heidi Anne Bray Profile pic 1

 

My name is Heidi, and I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, which is currently a very frozen wonderland.  I’m a wife, and a stay-at-home mom to two crazy boys. The closest thing I have to a job is running a childcare program through my church.  I’m a very outdoorsy person.  Anything that gets me outside, I’ll try it… Hiking, kayaking, skiing, snowshoeing, hanging out at our cabin, just about anything.
My running career is… interesting. I ran cross country back in high school, but it was definitely a love/hate relationship. I loved the races, and being part of the team, but running itself was a struggle. I ended up having to quit my senior year when I was diagnosed with Grave’s Disease (hyperthyroidism). At the time it was kind of a relief.
Fast forward twenty years, now that the boys are older and not needing me so much, I felt like it was time to do something for me. I saw an add that Run or Dye was coming to our area, so I signed up, just to see if I could still do it. Well, I did, and I was hooked! By the end of the summer, I had run six different 5ks and a 2 mile Mud Run. This summer, I’m looking forward to adding some 10ks and my first half marathon.
I discovered Heart Strides through Another Mother Runner page on Facebook. The whole idea clicked. Right about the same time I started running, my youngest son. Was diagnosed with high functioning autism, and my oldest with anxiety. So even though my kids are healthy and I’m grateful, I understand the stress of doctors appointments, meds, and seemingly endless meetings with school about how to handle all the crazy. Running became my therapy, that little piece of mine, in a life that some days just feels like it belongs to everyone else.  I’m honored to be part of Heart Strides, and look forward to finding ways to help moms find that piece of themselves too.
Heidi Anne Bray Profile pic 2
Thank you Heidi for bringing your generous spirit, love for adventure and sweet smiles to Heart Strides!
One response to “Ambassador Profile: Heidi Anne Bray

  1. Pingback: Thank you Another Mother Runner! | Heart Strides·

Leave a Reply

