Danielle Slota: Sunshine from Seattle.

Danielle Slota profie pic

Hello, my name is Danielle.  I’m 31 years old, a mother, a wife, a student, a career woman, and a runner.

I met Denise through an online community designed to support a group of gals participating in an AMR challenge.  In a short time we went from replying to each other’s comments on a reader board, to becoming not just FB friends, but actual email buddies.  We shared our stories and instantly became a support system for each other.  Two ladies leading different busy lives with similar goals in mind.  She virtually supported me through a 10k, a half marathon, and a 50 mi bike ride (a first for me).  I remember the email she sent in the midst of all of that telling me about her idea for Heart Strides.  Her mission was so clear, so genuine, her passion bleeding through the computer screen.  Here was a mother wanting nothing more than to help other mothers. How could I ask to get on board?!  Heart Strides brings community to women in emotional need.  It is a way of lending a helping hand to mother’s too afraid or unable to ask for it.

I have been blessed thus far with a healthy kiddo.  I don’t have large medical bills or frequent trips to the doctor with my child.  I don’t have the constant worries and frustrations that caring for a sick child or a kiddo with a critical condition brings.  I am grateful that I can’t relate first hand to mothers that do.  Where I can relate to some of these mothers however, is with the struggle to maintain (or in my case reach) a healthy weight.  I have been overweight my entire adult life and most of my childhood.  When my daughter was in first grade, she came home and told me that her friend asked her why he mother’s butt was so big.  That was it.  That was the moment that fueled my desire to change my lifestyle.  It’s been a slow process, some years more successful than others.  My daughter is now in fifth grade and I am still working on that 100 pound weight loss goal.  I will get there.  In time, I will get there.  But what if I didn’t have the money for running shoes?  What if I wasn’t able to leave the walls of a healthcare facility to take a walk or go for a run?  What if my life life was so focused on caring for my sick child that the idea of caring for myself never entered my mind?  That’s where Heart Strides comes in.  That’s where I, and you, can make a difference.

If you are interested in learning more about me and my road to a healthy lifestyle I would love to hear for you.  Please visit my blog atwww.lifeasmywitness.wordpress.com.

Lots of love from Seattle!
(It was 53 degrees here today!  Made it nice and easy to hit the pavement.)

One response to “Danielle Slota: Sunshine from Seattle.

  1. Pingback: Thank you Another Mother Runner! | Heart Strides·

Leave a Reply

